Model Citizens

Riverside Archives

This event has occurred in the past

Sydney Festival and Circus Oz present

Model Citizens


Venue

Off Site Venues

Dates

02 January - 28 January 2018

Event Type

Live Event

The always innovative Circus Oz returns with the first production for the company by new artistic director Rob Tannion, exploring what it means to be a ‘model citizen’ in Australia today through awesome physicality, biting satire and highly skilled, unpredictable acrobatics.

With an impressive cast of mesmerising aerialists, cheeky characters, dare-devil acrobats, quirky juggling, hula hooping and backyard banter, Model Citizens subverts the suburban dream.

Set inside a model kit world complete with giant scissors and cotton reels, peg springboards and hammock-sized undies on the line, the performers swing from knife-dodging to acrobat-tossing, contorting through huge steaming irons to tumbling off a house of giant credit cards.

With a brand new ensemble of performers, a thumping live band and set design that challenges scale and perspective, the latest Circus Oz show brings a fresh sophistication to the troupe’s larrikin personality, delivering exhilarating family-friendly feats with poise and charm.

“A masterpiece that blows our socks off and tickles our feet at the same time” THEATRE PRESS
“The entire ensemble has charisma and skill to burn” THE AUSTRALIAN
“An under-appreciated gem in our national cultural identity” THE GUARDIAN

Dates & Times:
Tuesday 2 January at 7.30pm
Wednesday 3 January at 7.30pm
Thursday 4 January at 7.30pm
Friday 5 January at 7.30pm
Saturday 6 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Sunday 7 January at 3pm
Wednesday 10 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Thursday 11 January at 7.30pm
Friday 12 January at 7.30pm
Saturday 13 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Sunday 14 January at 3pm
Wednesday 17 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Thursday 18 January at 1.30pm
Friday 19 January at 7.30pm
Saturday 20 Janaury at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Sunday 21 January at 3pm
Wednesday 24 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Thursday 25 January at 7.30pm
Friday 26 January at 1.30pm
Saturday 27 January at 1.30pm + 7.30pm
Sunday 28 January at 3pm

Venue: The Circus Oz Big Top – Prince Alfred Square (across the road from Riverside Theatres).

 

Photos

Ticket Options

Ringside All tickets $90
A Reserve - Full Price $60
A Reserve - Concession $50
A Reserve - Child $45
A Reserve - Family (2 adults, 2 children) $42.50 per ticket
B Reserve - Full Price $45
B Reserve - Concession $40
B Reserve - Child $35
B Reserve - Family (2 adults, 2 children) $27.50
Transaction fees apply
Phone $4.60
Web $3.60
Counter $2.60
Screen $1.65
School Bookings $3.30

Explore more Riverside shows

The Climbing Tree

Part drama, part music, part ghost story, this show is a personal tale that reflects experiences shared in towns across Australia.

Salomé (Cinema On Demand)

Internationally acclaimed theatre director Yaël Farber's charged retelling turns the infamous biblical tale on its head, placing the girl we call Salomé at the centre of a revolution.

The Adventures of Alvin Sputnik

Featuring a fusion of animation, puppetry, projections, live and recorded music, come on a visually spectacular journey with Alvin Sputnik.