Alice in Wonderland (January)

Riverside Archives

This event has occurred in the past

Sydney Festival presents

Alice in Wonderland (January)


Venue

Lennox Theatre

Dates

05 January - 27 January 2018

Event Type

Live Event

Lewis Carroll’s whirling, fantastical masterpiece is faithfully and beautifully recreated as a nonstop, madcap theatrical adventure for the whole family. See the classic kids’ tale in an all-new Australian adaptation by multi award-winning playwright Mary Anne Butler, starring Dubs Yunupingu as Alice – the first time the role has been played by an Indigenous woman.

Published more than 150 years ago, Carroll’s classic tale of the girl who fell down the rabbit hole has proven as timeless as it is entertaining. Directed by Cristabel Sved (Before/After, Sydney Theatre Company), Alice in Wonderland is a brand new production from the producer of the critically acclaimed The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show (Sydney Festival 2015).

Dubs Yunupingu, an absolutely magnetic actress, whose fresh-faced enthusiasm and considerable personal magnetism is perfect for children’s theatre, and she effortlessly embodies the character of Alice.Australian Stage

How to make Alice in Wonderland feel fresh and relevant in 2018?… make her a 13 year old AFL-loving misfit who was chased off the footy team by boys saying a girl can’t hack the sport. Put her in a version of that iconic blue and white outfit, but make it clear that she can’t stand it. Use her trip to Wonderland to help Alice discover that her voice matters as much as that of any boy.Time Out Sydney

Friday 5 January at 12pm and 2pm
Saturday 6 January at 12pm and 2pm
Sunday 7 January at 12pm and 2pm
Tuesday 9 January at 10.30am
Tuesday 9 January 12.30pm (Relaxed performance)
Wednesday 10 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm
Thursday 11 January at 10.30am +12.30pm
Friday 12 January at 12pm + 2pm
Saturday 13 January at 12pm + 2pm
Tuesday 16 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm
Wednesday 17 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm
Thursday 18 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm|
Friday 19 January at 12pm + 2pm
Saturday 20 January at 12pm + 2pm
Tuesday 23 January at 10.30am
Tuesday 23 January 12.30pm (Relaxed performance)
Wednesday 24 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm
Thursday 25 January at 10.30am + 12.30pm
Friday 26 January at 12pm + 2pm
Saturday 27 January 12pm + 2pm

after the Sydney Festival season Alice in Wonderland will return to us in February for another season 22-24 Febraury. Book here for the Febraury dates.

Lock out period applies.

 

Ticket Options

All tickets $36
Family (2 adults 2 children) $26.50 per ticket
Transaction fees apply
Phone $4.60
Web $3.60
Counter $2.60

Duration

60 mins


Explore more Riverside shows

Bright Star

A feast of Romantic poetry and music featuring the works of Keats and Schubert.

SANCHARI

An innovative collection of short works choreographed and directed by Anandavalli

A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Don't miss Sport For Jove’s Artistic Director, Damien Ryan bring the full force of his acclaimed theatricality and invention to a brand new vision of Shakespeare's astonishing classic.